Hispanic Chamber to Honor San Antonio’s Most Influential Business Leaders at 2018 Business Awards Dinner

San Antonio Hispanic Chamber recognizes nine outstanding local businesses and business leaders for their positive impact in our community

The San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (SAHCC) is proud to announce the honorees for its 2018 Business Awards Dinner.  Honoring the accomplishments of some of San Antonio’s most influential business and community leaders who are at the forefront of their industries, the Business Awards Dinner will take place on Thursday, June 14, 2018 at the Hyatt Regency San Antonio Riverwalk.

“These phenomenal business and community leaders positively impact our community and ensure the vitality of San Antonio’s economy through their work every day,” said Ramiro A. Cavazos, President & CEO of the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. “It is a humbling honor for us at the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce to be able to provide recognition to such incredible leaders.”

The Annual Business Awards Dinner dates back almost 40 years. In the 1980s, this initiative began as an effort to lift up and highlight minority small business owners and advocates who were rarely recognized in the community, during a time when San Antonio faced high levels of discrimination. The San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce is proud to continue this tradition of highlighting business leaders who are committed to improving the San Antonio business community and promoting minority procurement opportunities.

The 2018 Business Awards Dinner honorees include:

Community Voice Award: Laura E. Mayes, City of San Antonio

Advocate of the Year Award: Louis Escareño, UETA Duty Free

Corporate Executive of the Year Award: J.D. Salinas III, AT&T

Small Business of the Year Award: Stability Staffing and Consulting, Jennifer Delgado

Large Business of the Year Award: Pape-Dawson Engineers, The Dawson Family

Family Business of the Year Award: Division Laundry and Cleaners, Patrick Garcia and Family

Community Service Award: Ambassador Reyna Torres-Mendívil, Consul General of Mexico in San Antonio

Rising Star of the Year Award: Alberto Altamirano, Cityflag

Lifetime Achievement Award: Robert Puente, San Antonio Water System

Past award recipients include: CPS Energy’s Paula Gold-Williams, the San Antonio Business Journal’s Tony Quesada, the Rivard Report’s Robert Rivard, Alamo Colleges’ newly-named Chancellor Dr. Mike Flores, Santana Group’s Rosa Santana, El Rey Network’s Robert Rodriguez, Former Secretary of State Hope Andrade, HOLT CAT’s Peter Holt, The Gonzaba Medical Group, True Flavor’s Chef Johnny Hernandez, Graham Weston, among others.

The 2018 Business Awards Dinner will be held at the Hyatt Regency San Antonio Riverwalk on Thursday, June 14, 2018 starting with a reception at 6:00 p.m. followed by dinner and awards program at 7:00 p.m. Individual tickets are $100 for Hispanic Chamber members and $125 for future members.  Sponsorships, which include tables of 10, may also be purchased. Tickets available for purchase at www.sahcc.org, by phone at 210-225-0462, or at the door. For questions about the event or sponsorship opportunities, please contact Veronica De La Torre at 210-208-8208 or veronicad@sahcc.org.

Reporters wishing to cover the event, please contact Jeannette Garcia at 210-208-8223 or jeannetteg@sahcc.org.