Thanks to the more than 185 local business leaders who joined us in Washington, D.C. during SA to DC 2019!

Last week, our President and CEO Diane Sanchez and 2019 Chair John Agather joined over 185 San Antonio business and community leaders on the annual SA to DC trip.  This year marked the 41st trip our community has rallied around advocating for a better San Antonio.  The group was divided into issue teams ranging from small business and immigration to transportation and energy.  Over 100 separate meetings were set up with legislators, committee staff, agencies, industry organizations, and companies.

The trip culminated with a reception at the Mexican Cultural Institute hosted by Mexican Ambassador to the United States Martha Bárcena Coqui.  Prior to the reception, Diane and John had a private meeting with the Ambassador who highlighted her attendance at our 90th gala just a few days before.


Programming for the trip included several panels and speakers including Speaker Nancy Pelosi, House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy, Senator John Cornyn, Congressman Joaquin Castro, and Congressman Will Hurd.  Former President and CEO Ramiro Cavazos spoke on an immigration panel  as well.

The Small Business Team met with Congresswoman Nydia Velasquez (NY) who chairs the House Small Business Committee.

A big thank you to Juan Antonio Flores of Port San Antonio and Kathy Garcia of CPS Energy for co-chairing SA to DC and to our partner organizations, the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, the South San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, the North San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, the West San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, and the San Antonio Mobility Coalition.  We hope you can join us next year!