The San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce announces the 2018 Class for the Alexander Briseño Leadership Development Program

Class members announced after Chamber received a record number of applicants for program

SAN ANTONIO (May 21, 2018) — The San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (SAHCC) is proud to announce the 62 community leaders who will take part in the Alexander Briseño Leadership Development Program (ABLDP) Class of 2018. ABLDP has helped inspire many local leaders, including Bexar County Sheriff Javier Salazar and recent Forbes 30 under 30 recipient and CEO of Cityflag Alberto Altamirano, and has helped create change-making programming for organizations such as the annual VIA GoCodeSA Codeathon and the City of San Antonio’s Cul-TÚ-Art funding guidelines.

Individuals selected to take part in this year’s program will be immersed in educational sessions that address topics that spark an interest in becoming a change-agent in San Antonio including strategic planning; leading and managing change; building great teams; improving quality both operationally and culturally; and creating and sustaining professional and organizational results.

“The Alexander Briseño Leadership Development Program has a 17-year history of developing and preparing a diverse group of business professionals to be the future leaders of our great city,” said San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Chairwoman Erika Prosper Nirenberg. “The positive impact that many of the program’s alumni have on our community is clearly shown, and our goal is to continue to cultivate that momentum.”

Named after Mr. Alexander Briseño, retired San Antonio City Manager, distinguished Professor of Public Service in Residence at St. Mary’s University and Hispanic Chamber 2013 Chairman of the Board, this year’s ABLDP will provide students an opportunity to learn from an impressive faculty of community and business leaders who will share their personal experiences, achievements and challenges that they encounter as leaders in both the public and private sectors.

“ABLDP is guided by Alexander Briseño’s leadership principle of ‘gerencia con corazón,’ or management with heart,” said Ramiro A. Cavazos, San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce President & CEO. “Having worked under Briseño, I know first-hand the spirit of those words and have continuously seen how they are exemplified and carried forward by the participants of the program year after year.”

This year’s ABLDP will continue to be facilitated by renowned leadership development consultant Winslow Swart who has provided leadership development, team building and strategic planning services for the Spurs, Toyota, USAA, Rackspace and the City of San Antonio among many others.

“Since 2011, I have had a front-row seat to the inspiring story of our city’s emerging leaders, their successes, and the impact they have on all of us,” said Winslow Swart, Co-Founder and Chief Inspiration Officer at One Million Dreams. “Each year, our graduates seem to be doing bigger, bolder, and more disruptive things, and I believe that this year’s class members will continue this tradition.”

The Hispanic Chamber congratulates the following 62 individuals who were selected to participate in this year’s highly-competitive program that had a record-breaking number of applicants:

Adrienne Alcazar, CPS Energy

Amy Janke, Nationwide Insurance

Ana Nelson, Bexar County District Attorney’s Office

Andrew Chapman, St. Mary’s University

Arturo  Espinoza, Toyota Motor Manufacturing TX

Ben Javorsky, Nationwide Insurance

Bianca Garcia, UT Health San Antonio

Brittany Alonzo, USAA

Bryan Traywick, Heard & Smith LLP

Christina Carter, Miner National Services

Christopher Mammen, Mammen Investments

Cristina Brantley, San Antonio Water System

Daniel Peña, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Texas Inc.

David Martinez, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Texas Inc.

Diana Maldonado, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Texas Inc.

Domingo Villarreal, CPS Energy

Donovon Rodriguez, Office of State Senator Jose Menendez

Erica Molina, San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Erika Ragsdale, City of San Antonio

Flor Salas, City of San Antonio

Goran Brkic, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Texas Inc.

Guillermo Martinez, CPS Energy

Hugh Farr, Big Brothers Big Sisters of South Texas

Janie Lopez, R.O.A.R. San Antonio

Jason Massiatte, Ward North American Van Lines

Jennilee Garza, University of Texas at San Antonio

Jomo Henry, Spurs Sports and Entertainment

Joseph VanKuiken, City of San Antonio

Joshua Ware, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Texas Inc.

Katy Silva, Rivard Report

Manuel Maldonado, Somerset ISD

Marissa Guzman, Pape-Dawson Engineers, Inc.

Marissa Rodriguez, IDEA Public Schools

Mark Ross, H-E-B

Marlene Romo Flores, Salons by JC

Martha Gonzalez, Texas A&M University – San Antonio

Meghan Regis, San Antonio Housing Authority

Melissa Cano, City Year

Michael Johnson, Northwestern Mutual

Michael Odum, Family Service Association of San Antonio

Michael Terrell, U.S. Department of Defense

Michelle Jones , South Texas Regional Advisory Council

Miguel Soto, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Texas Inc.

Monica Benavides, USAA

Monica Ramirez, Kym’s Kids of San Antonio

Nadia De La Garza, The DoSeum

Paige Kingsborough, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Texas Inc.

Patricia Kittle, City of San Antonio

Raul Botan, VIA Metropolitan Transit

Rhebecca Toni Soliz, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Texas Inc.

Robby Brown, DOCUmation

Rocio Guenther, City of San Antonio

Ruben Garcia, Spurs Sports & Entertainment

Sara Ramirez, San Antonio Public Library

Sasha Begum, Begum Peláez-Prada PLLC

Sergio Valdez, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Texas Inc.

Stacy Jones, Centro San Antonio

Stephanie Flores, Bexar County Sheriff’s Office

Steven Zumaran, Our Lady of the Lake University

Susan Wonder, Nationwide Insurance

Tyler Fleming, TSF Construction & Roofing

William Fernandez, Merrill Lynch

A special thanks goes out to the 2018 ABLDP Steering Committee comprised of Hispanic Chamber members:

Steering Committee Tri-Chairs:

Gary Thobaben, Nationwide Insurance

Guillermo “William” Ramirez-Long, RJ RIVERA Associates, Inc.

KJ Feder, CPS Energy

2018 Facilitator:

Winslow Swart, One Million Dreams

Steering Committee Members:

Blanca Maldonado – Whataburger

Bryan Gonzales- Roland’s Roofing Co

Delia Covo – Teach for America

Demonte Alexander – AXR Strategies LLC

Gladys Hernandez – The DoSeum

Irma Iris Duran de Rodriguez – City of San Antonio

Jason Rodriguez – HNTB Corporation

Karla Duran – University of the Incarnate Word

Maria Nelson – Centro San Antonio

Robert Vasquez – San Antonio Water System

Santiago Jaramillo – VIA Metropolitan Transit

Simon Castillo – CPS Energy

Tristan Maldonado – Hops and Vines Distributing

Vanessa Tobares – St. Mary’s University

For more information about the Alexander Briseño Leadership Development Program please contact Victoria Shoemaker at or (210) 208-8210 or visit our website at