The San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce is now accepting applications for the 2019 Alexander Briseño Leadership Development Program

The San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (SAHCC) is now accepting applications for the Alexander Leadership Development Program (ABLDP) Class of 2019 through Friday, April 5, 2019.

ABLDP has helped inspire many local leaders, including Bexar County Sheriff Javier Salazar and Forbes 30 under 30 recipient and CEO of Cityflag Alberto Altamirano, and has helped create change-making programming for organizations such as the annual VIA GoCodeSA Codeathon, the ReadySAGo! Transit on Tap brewery event series, the RAICES Court Observer Program in partnership with St. Mary’s University and more.

Individuals selected to participate in the program will be immersed in educational sessions that address topics that spark an interest in becoming a change-agent in San Antonio including strategic planning; leading and managing change; building great teams; improving quality both operationally and culturally; and creating and sustaining professional and organizational results.

“For almost two decades, the Alexander Briseño Leadership Development Program has led to innovative solutions to many of our private and public sector issues in San Antonio,” said San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Chairman John Agather. “This program continues to foster, as well as challenge emerging local leaders to create a lasting impact that benefits all in our community.

Named after Mr. Alexander Briseño, retired San Antonio City Manager, distinguished Professor of Public Service in Residence at St. Mary’s University and Hispanic Chamber 2013 Chairman of the Board, this year’s ABLDP will provide students an opportunity to learn from an impressive faculty of community and business leaders who will share their personal experiences, achievements and challenges that they encounter as leaders in both the public and private sectors.

“I have met many passionate leaders in our community that credit the Alexander Briseño Leadership Development Program with their professional growth, as well as igniting the fire to create positive change in San Antonio,” said Diane S. Sánchez, President and CEO of the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. “It is the fire of these young professionals that will lead our city’s economic vitality and growth as San Antonio transforms into the powerful metropolitan we anticipate becoming.”

In addition to developing individual and organizational leadership acumen, the program serves as social innovation accelerator foster social and economic impact teams as the core component of the “action oriented” leadership development program.  For the past eight years, the program’s architect and facilitator continues to be Winslow Swart, Chief Inspiration Officer at Winslow Consulting.  Swart has provided leadership development, team building and strategic planning services for the Spurs, Toyota, USAA, Rackspace and the City of San Antonio among many others.

“Since 2011, I have had a front-row seat to the inspiring story of our city’s emerging leaders, their successes, and the impact they have on all of us,” said Winslow Swart, Co-Founder and Chief Inspiration Officer at One Million Dreams. “Each year, our graduates seem to be doing bigger, bolder, and more disruptive things, and I believe that this year’s class members will continue this tradition.”

The program could also not be successful without a strong network of alumni serving as the Steering Committee led by tri-chairs Gary C. Thobaben of Nationwide, Jason Rodriguez of HNTB Corporation and Vanessa Tobares of St. Mary’s University.

“Every year, participants raise the standard for individual growth and community impact through exceptional professional development and servant leadership,” said Thobaben, Rodriguez and Tobares. “The class of 2018 achieved new heights of sustainable, collaborative ideas and projects for the advancement of San Antonio. We welcome those hoping to develop and contribute in this way to apply for our class of 2019.”

To apply for ABLDP visit

A special thanks to the 2019 ABLDP Steering Committee:

2019 ABLDP Tri-Chairs:

Gary C. Thobaben, Nationwide

Jason Rodriguez, HNTB Corporation

Vanessa Tobares, St. Mary’s University


2019 Facilitator:

Winslow Swart, One Million Dreams


Steering Committee Members:

Blanca Maldonado, Whataburger

Brittany Alonzo, USAA

Christopher Mammen, Mammen Investments

Delia Covo, Teach for America

Gladys Hernandez, Leadership SAISD

James Chandler, The IMG Studio

Jennilee Garza, The University of Texas at San Antonio

Dr. Karla Duran, Alamo Academies

Marissa Rodriguez, IDEA Public Schools

Meghan Regis Rodriguez, San Antonio Housing Authority

Michael Terrell, Department of Defense

Santiago Jaramillo, VIA Metropolitan Transit

Simon Castillo, CPS Energy

Stacy Jones, Centro San Antonio