The San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce is now accepting applications for the 2020 Alexander Briseño Leadership Development Program

The San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (SAHCC) is now accepting applications for the Alexander Briseño Leadership Development Program (ABLDP) Class of 2020 through Friday, April 3, 2020.

Participants will be immersed in leadership sessions that will spark interest in becoming a change-agent in San Antonio. Class topics include strategic planning, leading and managing change, building teams, and creating and sustaining professional and organizational results. In addition to developing individual and organizational leadership acumen, the program serves as a social innovation accelerator to foster social and economic impact action teams.

ABLDP has inspired and graduated many leaders in our community, including Bexar County Sheriff Javier Salazar and Alberto Altamirano, CEO of Cityflag and Forbes 30 under 30 recipient.  Successful action teams have resulted in creating impactful community initiatives such as the annual VIA GoCodeSA Codeathon, ReadySAGo! Transit on Tap brewery event series, the RAICES Court Observer Program in partnership with St. Mary’s University and many more.

“The Alexander Briseño Leadership Development Program further develops San Antonio’s brightest leaders. Our program participants have a track record of continuing their team projects beyond the program to create a positive community impact,” said Dr. Erika Gonzalez, Chairwoman of the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. “The individuals that go through the leadership programs at the Hispanic Chamber shine a light on our 91 years of advocacy and development.”

“For almost 20 years, our Alexander Briseño Leadership Development Program has served as an innovative social impact accelerator dedicated to fostering the development of professional and civic leadership,” said Major General (USMC Ret) Juan Ayala, San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Interim President & CEO . “We are proud to bring together diverse groups of cross-sector business professionals to create unique and sustainable solutions to challenges within our city that will benefit our entire community.”

This year’s ABLDP class is led by Jason Rodriguez of HNTB Corporation and Santiago Jaramillo of VIA Metropolitan Transit.

“The program challenges participants to be the best version of themselves going on a journey from inner growth to practical servant leadership in the community.” said Rodriguez and Jaramillo. “2020 is a milestone year where participants will be challenged at a higher level to make this the best year yet! We are excited to invite those that share our passion for leadership to apply for the class of 2020.”

To apply for ABLDP visit:

Members of the 2020 ABLDP Steering Committee:

2020 Facilitator:

Winslow Swart, One Million Dreams

Steering Committee Members:

Brittany Alonzo, USAA

Christopher Mammen, City Education Partners

Delia Covo, Teach for America

Gladys Hernandez, SAISD Foundation

James Chandler, The IMG Studio

Jennilee Garza, The University of Texas at San Antonio

Jessica Leal, CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Health System

Karen Ivy, Texas A&M University-San Antonio

Marissa Rodriguez, Incarnate Word High School

Matthew Loaiza, San Antonio Public Library

Rachel Brehm, dwg.

Simon Castillo, CPS Energy

Stacy Jones, Centro San Antonio

Terry Rawe, Nationwide Insurance


San Antonio Hispanic Chamber

Founded in 1929, America’s first Hispanic Chamber and San Antonio’s only Five-Star accredited organization by the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce continues to be the leader in business assistance, connecting its members to needed resources, providing procurement, marketing and networking opportunities, advocating for legislation affecting small businesses and corporations in the San Antonio metropolitan area, and better training to develop the skills of our local workforce. The San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce is San Antonio’s largest independent business organization with more than 1,300 members.